Arrival + 372

February 24th, 2012

The other day I was looking at some of my past entries (mostly the ones from the start of the year) to remind myself of how I felt and what I thought while I first got settled in Korea. Now that I am leaving in three days I thought it was time to write a departure preparation blog to close out the year in Korea.

I leave Korea on Monday morning (it is now Friday morning). I’m getting pretty nervous about my travels, but my nervousness is outweighed by my excitment. Looking back at my Arrival + 6 entry from February 23rd, 2011 (One year ago yesterday) I see that time had seemed to slow down for me in the first few days following my arrival. I couldn’t believe I had only been here for 6 days as it seemed much longer. These days I find that time also seems to be slowing down as I savor every moment left to me in Korea.

Another similarity is how one year ago today I was in the process of connecting myself to Korean society. I was opening accounts, trying to get a cellphone, trying to get internet access. These days I’m spending my time unhooking myself from Korean society. Two days ago I closed my Korean bank accounts and set up one remittance account that will forward all my funds to Canada. Today I am going to cancel my cell phone. I’m spending every night having goodbye dinners with friends of mine – which has been greatly entertaining but not so good for my liver. I also mailed home a box of clothes and sports equipment (stuff that I don’t need on my super mega giga ultra plan).

I can’t deny that unplugging myself from Korea makes me feel a little sad. This is truly a great country and an amazing place to live. A couple of friends who read my last post said I came across as pretty Korea=Awesome Canada=Sucks. That wasn’t my intention, in fact if I hadn’t been in a caffeine addled good humor I could just as easily have written a post on things I will not miss about Korea, and that list would be too long for one blog entry. That doesn’t change the fact that Korea is an awesome place to live (at least for one year) and I would do it again in a heartbeat.

Leaving Korea is also making me think about the future of this blog. I’m certainly not going to stop writing when I leave Korea, afterall you need to hear all about the exciting around the world adventure that will take place in the next month or so. But when I return to Canadian life I think I will have to finish the blog and call it quits. I have greatly enjoyed writing this thing – even those times I wasn’t in a writing mood and produced massive yawners. I just can’t see any reason (other than guilt) that my friends and family would want to read about my day to day life in Canada. Plus for about 2 months after I get home I am going to drown myself in so much Playstation 3 and Lays Salt and Vinegar chips (two of the things I miss the most about Canadian life) that I really can’t imagine you getting any entertainment out of reading about it. Unless you are into reading about how my level 27 warrior elf lost a fight against a pack of violent mudcrabs because my fingers were too slick from all the Salt and Vinegar oil to operate the controller. If that does sound appealing to you you should seek help, and I’ll thank you to stay away from me and my family.

Well that is all for now. There is a good chance that this will be the final post from in Korea (I’m still here for three days, but I might be shipping my computer home tomorrow and will then be more or less internet-less). I will try to write an update from Beijing before I hop aboard the ‘Train of Destiny’ as I have taken to calling it. If you don’t hear from me in Beijing don’t be afraid – I’m probably still alive. Definitely look for an update on or around March 2nd which will cover (hopefully) all the amazingly exciting things that happened on my 3 day train journey.

That’s all for now!

About bnbnower

A recent graduate of Carleton University, set adrift into the real world with no tangible goals or properly defined aspirations, I decided to set off for South Korea where I am teaching English as a second language. In my spare time I read, rock-climb, play frisbee and watch movies and television.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Arrival + 372

  1. mom says:

    hard to believe a year has passed and you are now unplugging, as you say.. It has been fun to share it with you through the blogs.
    Enjoy the next stage!

Leave a Reply

