Sunrise in the Pacific

Sunday, November 27th, 2011

I’m back!

You know that famous catchphrase when Arnold says; ‘I’ll be back.’

Well if he actually ever CAME back, it would be like this. It’s been over two weeks since my last blog entry. This is absolutely inexcusable. Allow me to offer an excuse: I haven’t really done anything these last few weeks. There really hasn’t been anything worth blogging about. I really don’t want to bore you with details of my mundane day-to-day. When my only real news is that I bought a new video game and watched Gran Turino I don’t feel the need to blog that – I don’t think you would feel the need to read it either.

You may be asking yourself why I haven’t been doing interesting things. Thats a good question and I don’t have a satisfactory answer for you. November has arrived and with it the fog of ennui that always afflicts me this time of year. For two weeks I basically just went about my business, struggling through my eight hour teaching days (it seems that as I spend more time thinking about home and my plans for next year the day to day bullshit that used to just run right off me is now sticking to my very soul, making my days longer and more stressful than they have ever been in Korea). The tedium reached unimaginable heights over the last week when I realized that my day has become way, way too regimented. It got to the point where I had the streetlights on my walk home timed so that I could cross the street by my watch rather than watching for the little green walk man (if I so chose). Honestly – if you life ever reaching the point where you can look at your watch and say – hmmm, 4:37pm… this light should turn in exactly one minute – please, PLEASE go do something out of the ordinary. I’m sure it will make you feel good.

Well it’s time to get around to the point of this blog – the thing that has revitalized my adventurous side and given me hope for the next few months. On Friday night I met up with some friends around 11pm. We hung out at an apartment for a few hours and around 2am we hopped in a cab. Our destination: Jangsan Mountain – the second highest point in Busan. Donning our winter clothes and flashlights we made our way up the pitch black hiking trail. We paused to take pictures of the ‘Danger – Minefield’ signs while contemplating our foolishness for hiking up a mountain that contains a minefield and military base at 4am.

We reached the top and settled into a nice wooded clearing out of the wind (after taking in the absolutely spectacular view of the city at night time) for some beers, snacks and conversation. Around 6am there was  a faint light on the horizon – the purpose of our climb, the sunrise, had begun.

I rowed for about 7 years, so I’m no stranger to early mornings or sunrises. At 18 years old I had probably seen more sunrises than most people do their entire lives. Despite this, I don’t think I’ve ever actually watched the sun rise. I’ve seen it, but usually while hauling on an oar while freezing cold while being screamed at by a 90 pound girl. Not ideal conditions to really apreciate it. I’m a 23 year old guy, so I know I’m supposed to use simple words while speaking loudly and eating something that used to be alive, but I’m going to suspend that side of myself for a moment while I tell you that watching the sun rise over the pacific ocean from the top of a mountain was one of the greatest things I’ve ever seen. I can still feel the effects of it revitalizing my lethargic soul back into the life loving, adventure seeking being it was in my earlier days in Korea.

It is November 27th today. I have been in Korea for nine months and 10 days. I will be leaving Korea in almost exactly 3 months. I will be coming home in four months and three days. That’s four months and three days for me to cram in as many more awesome experiences abroad as I possibly can.

I promise I won’t disapoint you!

Stay tuned for more soon!

Ps. I have posted a short video of the sunrise from the top of Jangsan. It’s not that good. Please feel free to watch it though! I has a good soundtrack at least 🙂 http://youtu.be/dhA1Ckxy3tM

About bnbnower

A recent graduate of Carleton University, set adrift into the real world with no tangible goals or properly defined aspirations, I decided to set off for South Korea where I am teaching English as a second language. In my spare time I read, rock-climb, play frisbee and watch movies and television.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunrise in the Pacific

  1. Jim Kingdon says:

    Happy that you busted out of you’re two week rut. Welcome back. Loved the video of the sunrise.

  2. Tyler says:

    Ditto, glad to see yet another riveting entry – sounds like you can tune anything to the rhythm of your watch there, including when the internet is going to go out haha. Can’t wait for your return man. Keep up the adventures and keep blog writing, and as much as I’m sure Canada beckons, don’t let thoughts of the future blind you from the incredible things around you right now!

Leave a Reply

