Things are heating up…

As the title may indicate, things are heating up here in South Korea. I mean that in a non-literal sense, because its September 30th and things are actually experiencing a general cooling trend.  What IS heating up, however, is my Korean adventures.

Tonight I depart for Jeju island, the ‘Hawaii’ of Korea. I think calling Jeju the Hawaii of Korea is a bit like calling my hometown of Peterborough “Canada’s Florida” –> an aging population is not a significant justification for comparison, just as palm trees and a beach do not make Jeju Hawaii.

Nevertheless there are plenty of awesome things waiting to be experienced, and I can already feel my adventure sense tingling.

After Jeju comes two weeks of awesome frisbee action. Each weekend will see me and the rest of Gang Green battling it out for disc dominance against teams from Daegu, Gyeongju and more. It culminates with a two day beach Ultimate tournment on home soil here in Busan.

After the plethora of frisbee action I will be visited by none other than my good friend and father, Jim Kingdon. My Dad will be staying for about a week and the Kingdon men are going to tear this country up. Watch out Korea. For his visit we will be eating the finest Korean meals (that can be had for under 10 dollars, that is), hiking the tallest mountains (the tallest mountains that can be climbed with a case of beer under each arm, that is) and visiting the beaches and and other sights.

Once Jimmer has had his fill of Korea and returns home it will be back to the same old, same old here for me. Although, in this case same old same old means shark diving, bungie jumping and whatever other crazy schemes I can hatch during my long days teaching these adorable little rascals.

I read recently that nobody cares about things you say you will do, only the things you have done. With that in mind I’m going to wrap up this short entry and get on my way to doing these things so I can stop wasting your time with these ‘My Plans’ style posts. 

That’s all for now, stay tuned after the weekend for updates and videos of the stuff I get up to in Jeju.

About bnbnower

A recent graduate of Carleton University, set adrift into the real world with no tangible goals or properly defined aspirations, I decided to set off for South Korea where I am teaching English as a second language. In my spare time I read, rock-climb, play frisbee and watch movies and television.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Things are heating up…

  1. Tyler says:

    This is awesome news!! I know Jim’s gonna have a rocking time and you guys will most certainly tear up the South Seas. 😀

Leave a Reply

