Nothing to Report

July 10th, 2011.

Nothing new to report.

Been taking it real easy these last few weeks. Rainy season means making big outdoor plans a risky proposal at best. Days when it isn’t raining its usually too darn hot to do anything but head to the beach (not that I’m complaining about that), so I haven’t been throwing down alot of mad schemes of late.

In keeping with my Indianna Jones inspired lifestyle here in Korea I’m putting forth an effort to change that. For example this weekend I went skating (or as my Korean students would call it ‘ice skating’) at Shinsegae department store. It was pretty fun, and felt really good to skate again. There were three downsides to skating at the department store; first the management required the wearing of not only helmets, but also gloves. I mean… gloves? C’mon. I’m Canadian here – I can handle a skating rink without gloves (thats what pockets are for, right?) Second; the skates sucked. They were absolutely terrible. Very dull, no grip. Took 5 minutes before I’d gotten used to the suckyness enough to do cross cuts, and hockey stops were a scary proposition at best. Third and final downside; the place was full to bursting with Korean kids who did not necessarily appreciate the convenience and predictability of skating in a straight line. Although it wasn’t all bad – for example, occasionally I’d spot a gap large enough for me to build up some speed, almost enough to remind me of the open water of the Indian River on Christmas Eve. Furthermore, the sheer number of kids skating around ensured I’d never lack for awesome wipeouts to watch, which kept me thoroughly entertained.

After skating my Korean friend and a fellow Canadian grabbed some coffee and bibimbap, which I have decided is by far my favorite Korean food. Imagine rice with about four different types of shredded vegetables (usually zuchini, peppers, some green stuff I don’t recognize and some others) on top. On top of the veggies is some meat (or Kimchi or another topping depending on the type of bibimbap you are eating) smothered in a red spicy sauce. Topping it all off is a fried egg, sunny side up. Now imagine all this served up in a bowl that has been preheated (so hot you can’t even touch it). You mix it all together into a delicious stir fry type food and then wolf it down with generous helpings of kimchi and cold soup. Delicious.

Next weekend is the Boryeong Mud Festival. I guess that doesn’t sound too exciting –> After all, mud is really just wet sand when you stop to think about it, and wet sand isn’t all that exciting is it? –> Nevertheless, I’m still unreasonably excited for it. Basically about 60 English teachers are jumping on a bus from Busan, driving to Boryeong, renting like 10 rooms in some boarding house and will spend all weekend at the festival. I’m not 100% sure what goes on at this festival, but using my powers of deduction I assume it has something to do with mud. Actually I do know that there are massive mud pits that people jump in, roll around in and throw at each other, as well as all the other greatness offered by pacific beaches. I’ll take some video (using my awesome sand/waterproof camera) and explain the whole thing in detail in a future entry.

Finally, after mud fest is the final week of classes before the start of summer vacation. I’m really excited for two reasons; first, while teaching summer camp I am finished at 1pm in the afternoon, which essentially means 3 weeks of half days. Second; A friend of mine is potentially going to come visit from Canada for a week or so. As if all this wasn’t exciting enough, as soon as summer school ends I’m off to China for a 12 day visit. I’m finally going to see the Great Wall and go to Hong Kong, both of which have been long term goals of mine since before I decided to come to Asia.

So with three weeks of nothing to report behind me and three weeks of mind exploding awesomness ahead of me, I guess you can say I’m having a pretty good time, and looking forward to updating everyone on the crazyness to come!

Now I’m off for a quick spot to eat before Ultimate tonight. More to come soon so stay tuned.

About bnbnower

A recent graduate of Carleton University, set adrift into the real world with no tangible goals or properly defined aspirations, I decided to set off for South Korea where I am teaching English as a second language. In my spare time I read, rock-climb, play frisbee and watch movies and television.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nothing to Report

  1. mom says:

    Envious here! Enjoy your half days…and Tyler if he can get there..cant wait to hear about the trip!!
    The food sounds incredible….!

Leave a Reply

