Happy Birthday Canada!

Happy Canada Day!

That’s right today is July 1st, 2011. Today marks the 144th year since Canada became a country (not a totally independant country at that point but…). One hundred and forty-four years is not a very long time when you think about it. I mean, thats just my total lifespan (so far) times 6.20. Bet you didn’t know I was such a math whiz kid did you?Today in class I took a few minutes to tell the students about Canada day – which I do for most holidays because I like their reactions when I tell them they wouldn’t have to go to school today if they lived in Canada. They were really shocked to learn that Canada is only 144 years old. In fact I wrote it on the board and then wrote Korea’s age (approx. 4,344) underneath it so even the kids that have no idea what I’m saying clued in. In the first class of the day I said something like: “So Canada is a very young country, compared to Canada, Korea is a grandfather.” I’m not sure what it was about applying a human characteristic to a country that got them so riled up, but when they heard that the kids hit the roof! In a good way – I think it might have been the funniest thing they’ve ever heard.

Naturally every class after that I used the same line with the same results, only I started to get more dramatic with it. For instance by the end of the day I was like “Canada is a very young country, it’s like a little kid (pause for giggles to subside). Korea, though, is really OLD (emphasizing this word and making a somewhat silly face). In fact, Korea is like a …*Pause for effect* ….. GRANDFATHER!”

ROFL (rolling on the floor laughing)

LOLZ (laugh out louds)

LMFAO (laughing my f—ing a– off)

CTOJICBILSDH (crying tears of joy I can’t breathe I’m laughing so darn hard)

Ahh good times. Still don’t get it though.

Well the other night I took a trip to the largest department store in the world. It’s funny that I haven’t been there yet. It’s called Shinsegae Department store. I knew it was in Busan and I knew it held the Guiness World Record for the largest department store, but I really just wasn’t all that interested. During orientation we drove past it on a bus at one point and one of the group leaders pointed it out. I saw it and was kinda like.. ‘meh’. I mean sure it was a really big building, but I’ve seen big buildings before. Plus it was a department store and most of you know I’m not a big shopper. So I wasn’t all that interested in checking it out. I lived here for 4 months and never once got off the butt to go take a look. 

Let me give you a little advice. If you ever get the chance to see anything that claims to be the largest of its kind in the world, GO LOOK AT IT.

Man that department store was HUGE. I actually can’t wait to go back there and take a more thorough look around. There was just soo much space, so much to see and do. There was a movie theater, an ice rink, an entire floor devoted to restaurants (not just a food court, but a whole floor) and much more. Really neat and I’m super glad I went and learned that lesson.

I went with one of my co-teachers and we saw Transformers: Dark of the Moon.

Most of you have seen movies in 2D. A good number of you have probably even seen one of the new 3D movies that seem to be all the rage at the moment. Well, I don’t want to alarm anyone, but somehow these sneaky Koreans have managed to add a fourth D. I saw Transformers in none other than 4D!

This isn’t actually as wild as it sounds – in fact 4D cinemas have been around for ages (give me one moment to recover my composure as I’m swamped with nostalgia from Days of Thunder and License to Thrill at Canada’s Wonderland at the moment) – but the theater in Shinsegae has added a few neat extras. So first of all the movie itself is in 3D, which is cool as usual. Then you’ve got the moving seats. The seats themselves actually move in tandem with the action on screen, so as Starscream flies through Chicago banking left and right between buildings the seats actually lurch with him, throwing you around a little bit.  As if that wasn’t enough they also add in wind, so as the character flies around fans activate throughout the room and get enough wind going to ruffle your hair a little bit. Finally there are a few more little touches to complete the immersion. When the main character gets tripped by a fancy leg sweep a little bar shoots out behind your feet and gives your ankles a little rap. Later, a missile – in full 3D – flies straight at the camera and as it sails past a little jet in your head rest shoots pressurized air at your neck, as if it was the wind generated by the missiles’ passing.

Let me not forget my personal favorite – as one character spits in the face of another a little squirt of water from the seat in front of you sprays in your face! Although for me it was kind of my neck… I might be a little taller than the 15 year olds the seats were designed for. All in all a great night out! I really enjoyed the mall and the 4D experience (although the movie itself sucked….well I guess it was better than the second one… which isn’t saying alot).

I’m planning on heading back there for a skate sometime in the near future, so I’ll probably mention Shinsegae again in later blog entries, might even bring my camera.

Sorry for the delay but I have finally overcome my apathy and uploaded part two of the My Neighborhood video, definitely check it out at the link below.

http://www.youtube.com/user/Tiddlywinkers88?feature=mhee

That’s all for now. Happy Canada Day everyone!

About bnbnower

A recent graduate of Carleton University, set adrift into the real world with no tangible goals or properly defined aspirations, I decided to set off for South Korea where I am teaching English as a second language. In my spare time I read, rock-climb, play frisbee and watch movies and television.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy Birthday Canada!

  1. Tyler says:

    Haha I was going to say, all the 4-dimensional effects in the world couldn’t possibly make that movie not stink. Happy Canada Day!

  2. Aura says:

    Hey Tom! Your video isn’t there? Don’t keep us waiting in suspense!!
    By the way, 4D sounds pretty freakin’ cool to me!
    Aura
    P.S.
    Happy Canada Day from your man Dan!

  3. mom says:

    I have to ask….what do 4d glasses look like?

Leave a Reply

