Quarter-Life Crisis

Today is May 14th, 2011.

It’s been 1 day and 22 hours and 24 minutes since it happened.

It happened on May 12th at 1pm. I always knew it was going to happen one day. It happens to everybody at some point in their lives. There is no avoiding it. Trying to stop it from happening is like trying to stop the sun from setting, or the habs from being one of the greatest hockey franchises of all time.

So what happened Tom? What’s the news? Why do you insist on keeping us in suspense?

I found a grey hair.

There I said it. I found my first grey hair.

I’m actually playing up my concern a lot, I’m more excited than anything. I prefer to think of it as ‘earning’ my first grey hair. My trek through life and all the experiences that I’ve collected have finally started paying off. Or it could be the grade 6 brats I teach every monday and tuesday.

Let me shift gears a little bit and tell you about my day yesterday. The day started out like usual, although I was a few minutes late for school because I still haven’t budgeted the time in the mornings for checking my hair for more greys, but when I got to school I found balloons everywhere – turns out Sunday is ‘Teacher’s Day’ in Korea. Unlike Canadian Teacher’s Day, which is like the soap in the men’s washroom (totally ignored by everyone), teacher’s day here is kinda a big deal. Students greeted me with a boutonniere with some flowers – carnations and tulips I think – It was pretty anyway. I also got some free rice cakes in the afternoon and students would yell ‘Happy Teacher Day’ at me in the hallways. I’m not sure if this was part of teacher’s day or not, but one student saw my arm hair and told me I look like a monkey…. so that was nice of her.

Looks like a standard weekend ahead of me, some beach and frisbee action today, followed by a multiple birthday party tonight. Recuperation is the name of the game tomorrow until frisbee at 5:30pm. Off to bed tomorrow night to face the start of a new week and the continual trek towards further grey hairs.

Have a great weekend BNBers – and remember, we are now accepting donations to the ‘Fight Greys’ foundation. Let’s make finding grey hairs a thing of the past! Together we can do it!

About bnbnower

A recent graduate of Carleton University, set adrift into the real world with no tangible goals or properly defined aspirations, I decided to set off for South Korea where I am teaching English as a second language. In my spare time I read, rock-climb, play frisbee and watch movies and television.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Quarter-Life Crisis

  1. Tyler says:

    I will be deploying a box of Just For Men by air mail immediately, Monkey Man.

  2. mom says:

    Maybe she didn’t say “monkey”…maybe it was a Korean word for “movie star”, or “macho man” …. enjoy your weekend. Skype Sunday…

  3. Tyler says:

    Given modern medical science this may only really be an “eight-life crisis” 🙂

Leave a Reply

