Trying Something New

Hi everyone.

Today is April 26th, 2011.

Sorry it’s been so long since my last update. I’ve been meaning to get around to another post all week. So last night I went out for dinner with some friends of mine. Let me tell you about it:

My friend David asked me if I wanted to get dinner with him and his girlfriend Katie, plus their friend Dan who is visiting from England. After a long day at work my school finally let me off the leash around 4:30pm. I headed home and did a quick turn around to hop on a subway bound for Sasang station. I tell you, its a dog eat dog world here in Korea – I got jostled pretty good by people pushing their way onto the train behind me. As the train howled down the tunnel I realized my stomach was growling. It felt like I hadn’t eaten in a dog’s age.

I arrive at Sasang station and meet up with David and Katie, as well as their friend Dan and David’s co-teacher, Lindsay, who led us to a restaurant. The restaurant was a long walk away, mostly up hill, so by the end of it I was feeling pretty dogged. Dan asked Lindsay how much farther the restaurant was – he worried we were lost. She threw him a bone and told him it was just ahead – at the top of the hill.

The restaurant was pretty nice, here is a picture:

The Restaurant

The only downside was that it was the type of restaurant where you sit on the floor, with your legs crossed or on your knees. David hates these types of restaurants but his girlfriend told him to sit and he obeyed like a good boy. Dinner was a delicious soup, and we got to add liberal amounts of ginger, red sauce, onion and salty/sweet powder to taste. Here’s a picture:

It was so good I practically lapped it up! It was a fun time as well – David is a pretty funny guy; though at times his peculiar sense of humour makes him seem barking mad. Often his more off-color jokes are made even more hilarious by Katie’s reactions – she gets so embarrassed/mortified. We found it funny at the time – but poor David; I think he was in the doghouse last night.

After dinner we sniffed out a makoli bar. Katie had never tried Makoli so we tracked it down for her. It wasn’t easy to find – we stopped at a convenience store and our Korean guide asked the cashier where we could find a makoli bar. The cashier said to go outside and turn left. After heading in that direction for 10 minutes and not finding it we stopped at a bar and asked again. They told us it was in the other direction! Did we ever have a bone to pick with that cashier who told us ‘left’. Instead of confronting her we decided to let sleeping dogs lie – she wasn’t worth the effort. Even though we were walking outside for so long I didn’t mind too much – though we aren’t quite into the dog days of summer it was still plenty warm out for me to be comfortable in a t-shirt after sundown. We even saw a funny sign:

What is that chicken showing us? Only in Korea…

Finally we found the makoli bar and enjoyed some delicious drinks for a few hours:

 Waking up this morning I look out my window to see that it is raining cats and dogs. I had to drag myself out of bed to go to work. You could say I had a ‘ruff ‘ morning.

Oh I almost forgot to tell you what the main  ingredient in the soup was – in Korean it is called 개. In English? Well re-read the post carefully and I’m sure you’ll find some well hidden clues as to what the secret ingredient in that soup was.

Don’t judge me.

About bnbnower

A recent graduate of Carleton University, set adrift into the real world with no tangible goals or properly defined aspirations, I decided to set off for South Korea where I am teaching English as a second language. In my spare time I read, rock-climb, play frisbee and watch movies and television.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Trying Something New

  1. Linds says:

    ew really?

  2. Jim Kingdon says:

    Some advise son, while in Korea, don’t stray too far from your friends…..

  3. Tyler says:

    Tom followed this meal up with a helping of Jack-Russel-Terrier steaks in a Man’s-best-friend reduction sauce.

  4. mom says:

    I am with Lindsay…ew, really?

  5. Jack Hope says:

    Tom:
    Enjoy those canine treats – you will not find them here.There is a new Korean grocery store just opened here -there are all kinds of weird food there – cows and pig feet,cows knee bones,sliced mutton,canned silk worm pupa and fish I have never heard of before.I guess the Koreans eat anything that moves – even worse across the line in North Korea.
    Jack

    • bnbnower says:

      Wow! Jack, glad you are keeping up with the blog! Those silk worm pupa aren’t half bad – I’ve tried them while I’ve been here as well. Didn’t know about cow knee bones – but i’ll see if I can find them and tell you if they are any good.
      Hope you enjoy the blog – I certainly enjoy writing it!

Leave a Reply

