Video Catchup

This will be a quick post. I need to update my youtube account with a few cool new videos I made.

The first is the Jigalchi fish market video – really cool tour of the market that I visited a few weeks ago.

The second is my ‘Sunday in Daegu’ video, which gives you a glimpse of my para-gliding exploits last weekend.

You may be wondering why I am doing a blog post just for two new videos. Well the answer may surprise you (or it may not, I don’t know):

The internet in my apartment, though fast and super convenient, tends to disconnect itself for about 3 seconds every 30 minutes (the timing is infuriatingly reliable –> I’ve timed it). Normally this is of no consequence and I barely notice it. Unfortunately while uploading videos to youtube it becomes problematic as my upload gets interrupted and I need to start again. My solution? I’ve come back to my good ol’ coffee shop to upload them.

So why the blog post? Well what the hell else am I supposed to do for an hour while these videos upload?

I guess I’ll take this opportunity to tell you a little about a bar I went to a few nights ago. It is called the ‘Dragon’s Dream Cave Bar.’ I know you are probably thinking: Hahah another silly Korean bar name that has nothing to do with anything (like the Crossover Modern Bar Bee from one of my previous posts), but if you are thinking this you are dead wrong. It is, literally, a cave bar. Legend says it was built into the side of a mountain and originally served as a bomb shelter during the Korean War (sorry, I’ve been watching Indiana Jones). Now it has been converted into a bar complete with stone floors, tables and benches as well as a stone ceiling that drips water. Literally a cave. They also serve amazing makgeolli (pronounced, by Waygooks, as makoli) a Korean wine made from rice. I was never very partial to makoli – its white (almost milk-like) color and sweetness were slightly off-putting. Then a friend of mine suggested I close my eyes and pretend I’m drinking a Belgian triple – WOW, it tastes exactly like a Belgian beer! Makoli and I now get along just fine.

I better wrap up this entry for now – I want to keep it short because I have to read about 60 pages of my SCUBA manual before my lesson tomorrow morning. I think I’ll get on that and leave you with the link to my new videos that just finished uploading:

http://www.youtube.com/user/Tiddlywinkers88?feature=mhsn

Enjoy!

About bnbnower

A recent graduate of Carleton University, set adrift into the real world with no tangible goals or properly defined aspirations, I decided to set off for South Korea where I am teaching English as a second language. In my spare time I read, rock-climb, play frisbee and watch movies and television.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Video Catchup

  1. mom says:

    thanks for adding the video Tom! Para gliding looked great….and the karaoke was worth the wait!

  2. mom says:

    and waygook again is…?

    • bnbnower says:

      Waygook means foreigner. Depending on where you are from you are a variation of it – americans are Meegooks, for example. Canadians are just called Kenada though.

  3. Jim Kingdon says:

    It was nice to finally meet Harry Houdini, however brief. He reminded me of the trout you caught last spring that escaped in a similar manner….
    Loved the para-gliding video. The take off must have got your heart rate up….

  4. Dean says:

    Tom, great stuff. Loved the paragliading video! Well, all except for the Korean strapped on your back, but there is no accounting for Habs fans. Actually, I’m just envious as hell! Well, all except for the Korean guy strapped to your back! Caitlin is just finishing her last week of teacher’s college and will be spending the summer with us, and Bethany just got accepted into a master’s program (advanced cell bio) at Western. Other than that, all is well here. Your dad is trying to get me out on a drinking, I mean canoeing trip in May sometime. We’ll have to see! Enjoying your blogs, and I should respond more, but the road to hell is paved with good intentions. Take care of yourself, cheers Dean.

  5. Tyler says:

    Haha man, Sunday in Daegu definitely just became an instant classic in my books. I quite literally “LOL’ed” multiple times, I had to pause and reflect:

    “Soooooo we are flying. Yep, there’s my foot.” (until this point I hadn’t even realized you were already in midair)

    Guy: “”
    Tom: “I assume that means we’re doing okay and everything is just fine”
    *nervous laughter*
    “…But I don’t really know.”

    And the best punchline:

    …”Maybe its the sex trade after all?”

    And of course, liberal use of “Oooh-right” was always appreciated. You’re doing Canada proud man. Props to the Memento-esque editing and sequencing of events and unraveling backwards. Now mail home some fish!

Leave a Reply

