Innuendo and Cavemen

Hello everyone.

I have great news. Today is March 24th, 2011. After 36 days in Korea I have finally had internet set up in my apartment.

 Not unlike many events in my life, the process of getting internet involved several weeks of back and forth between myself, my co-teacher and the internet company. Plans were made, changed, remade and changed again. Excuses and delays were commonplace. Documents were required, service providers changed so documents were required again. Finally after nearly a month of waiting and hoping, finally the big moment arrives. In less than 5 minutes after letting the KT internet employee through the door, I have an internet connection. Weeks of struggle and focused persistence boil down to 5 minutes of action.

(I’m sure you are wondering, so let me be very clear: the self-deprecating, thinly veiled sexual innuendo in the paragraph above is intentional)

To celebrate my first night with internet connectivity I decided to cook dinner in my apartment. Given that it has been well over 36 days since I cooked my own meals, I guess I’m a little rusty. While I wouldn’t call tonight’s meal an unmitigated disaster, or even a total failure, I would call it a poorly executed attempt. Looking back, I have reasoned that the cause was most likely the gas burner I was cooking on. (Clearly the fault could not lie with me – I’m perfect). An unfortunate combination of too much heat and too much time resulted in a hard crusty rice that ringed the pot I was cooking it in. Luckily it was not hopelessly stuck to the pot, in fact it came out all together in one convenient, pot shaped, lump. I found that using simple tools to break through the hard outer crust rewarded me with soft, edible rice that escaped the searing heat. In order to enjoy my meal I had to employ an age old tactic – eating around the bad stuff. With a little soya sauce it tasted alright.

Although I did poorly with the rice, I still suceeded with the chicken. Cooking meat has always come naturally to me – in fact as a young man and a member of the Kingdon clan I believe I am genetically predisposed towards cooking meat. After all, young men have been cooking meat ever since the days of old Stone Hammer FireStarter, the neanderthalic inventor of fire and starting (and, of course, the stone hammer). We are hardwired to do it – its written into our genetic makeup. I’m sure it has nothing to do with the fact that you just add enough heat until it tastes good.

Switching gears; Now that I have internet in my apartment I expect these entries to become more fluid, more spontaneous – which is the way I originally intended them. It has been rather a chore trying to remember some of the things I’ve done and some of the things I’ve wanted to write about until I could get to a coffee shop or PC ban and make an entry, I believe the quality of the posts has suffered for it. From now on you can expect a much cleaner, more polished BNBNow. Yay!

Also shorter. I’m going to bed.

Have a great day BNBnowers!

About bnbnower

A recent graduate of Carleton University, set adrift into the real world with no tangible goals or properly defined aspirations, I decided to set off for South Korea where I am teaching English as a second language. In my spare time I read, rock-climb, play frisbee and watch movies and television.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Innuendo and Cavemen

  1. Jim Kingdon says:

    Great news about the internet, you can now initiate Veg mode.
    Have you ever wondered why we rarely have rice at Fishtail? Gas stoves don’t simmer very well…. Great problem solving though, keep a chisel handy

  2. Joan Webster says:

    I am thoroughly enjoying reading about your adventures. Glad all is well with you. Have fun!

    Love Joannie

  3. mom says:

    turn down the heat silly…
    glad you have internet – skype this weekend for sure!!

  4. Tyler says:

    Huzzah, charred meat and internet! The only necessities you truly need in any part of the world (plus beer).

    Also, I can’t believe it’s already been 36 (+3 now) days!

Leave a Reply

