Arrival +6

Today is the end of the 6th day since I arrived in Korea. It is the 23rd of February and the eve of my first complete week in country. Since I haven’t posted in a few days I thought I’d just re-cap what has happened since my last post.

Monday was a field trip day! They loaded us up onto buses and took us to two very different events. The first was a martial arts comedy called JUMP. It was amazing. Loosely based on my life, it’s about a family of martial artist who get visited one day by a shy, somewhat nerdy visitor. The visitor quickly falls in love with the daughter of the martial artists, but of course she won’t have him because he doesn’t kick ass like the rest of her family. Are you ready to hear about the first twist in the story? When the nerdy guy takes off his glasses he transforms into a super powered martial arts machine. This radical schizophrenia is enough to attract the interests of the daughter and they have intercourse (*Well, actually, intercourse is only implied… it was a family show afterall). Then some robbers come to rob the house and the second 45 minutes of awesome and hilarious martial arts action ensues.

I actually really loved the whole show, it was hilarious and the performers were unbelievably talented, so don’t be put off by my sarcastic tone and sketchy plot outline.

The second half of the day was….. ‘not as eventful’ i’ll say. I don’t wanna come right out and say it sucked, but it did. It involved a 2 hour drive north to the town of Pohan where we took a tour of POSCOE, the world’s 3rd largest steel production facility. The Korean people are extremely proud of their can-do attitudes (and rightfully so, since they did go from one of the poorest countries in the world to its 14th largest economy in less than 60 years). For this reason I understand why they would take us to see a symbol of this national spirit. The problem was in the execution. After our 2 hour drive we were looking forward to getting up and about, but wait…. oh its a bus tour. So not only do we need to continue sitting on the hot, smelly bus, but we didn’t even get the full experience because our tour guide didn’t speak English. Our Korean group leader tried to translate, but even though she has excellent English, the tour guide’s script included many technical words, which our Korean group leader just didn’t know. The highlight of the tour was when we got off the bus and walked through a part of the factory. Blast furnaces opening to slide a red hot slab of steel onto a set of rollers which guided it through a shaping process was really neat to witness, and I think I even caught a glimpse of the Terminator battling the T-1000 at one point.

Then it was back on the bus for the 2 hour trek back to campus.

Tuesday and Wednesday were back to orientation classes. The basic schedule for these days (and Sat – Sun before that)  consisted of breakfast from 7:30-8:45, class from 9-10:30 then again from 10:50 till 12:20. Lunch breaks up the day from 12:30 till 1:45, then its back to class from 2 till 3:30 and again from 3:50 till 5:20. Supper ran from 5:30 till 6:45 and then it was back to the classroom one more time for Korean language classes from 7 – 8:10pm. Fairly busy days, which is one of the reasons I don’t have much to talk about tonight. Tomorrow I find out where I am teaching (and the age level) and the day after that I am picked up by my co-teacher and taken to my new apartment and shown around my school. Hopefully this means I’ll have some really interesting updates for you guys soon.

In the mean time you can satiate your desire for information about your favorite English teacher in Korea by watching and re-watching a new video tour I made of the campus I am staying at. Hope you enjoy, here’s the link:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FpZhrTOjLtA

Thats all for now BNBers!

About bnbnower

A recent graduate of Carleton University, set adrift into the real world with no tangible goals or properly defined aspirations, I decided to set off for South Korea where I am teaching English as a second language. In my spare time I read, rock-climb, play frisbee and watch movies and television.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Arrival +6

  1. Tyler says:

    Haha, loved the Celine Deon and the subtle head scratch revealing the
    “How to Teach English in Korea” book. 😛 Great views of the city, keep those videos coming buddy, always great to see and hear from you from the fuuuuuuture!

Leave a Reply

