The Countdown

8 days until departure. I’m sure most people would be freaking out right now, trying to get ready, checking and re-checking their lists of must bring items. Luckily my laid-back nature has ensured that I have yet to accomplish any of my pre-departure to-do list; but I’ve also avoided much of the stress that goes along with it. Actually i’m kidding, I have done a fair amount of prep work, and thanks to my birthday yesterday (and the awesome gifts from my Mom, Jp and Marriette) I’m now closer than ever to having everything I will need to see me through the transition into life in Korea.

Speaking of having everything I need for my departure, I bought my plane ticket this morning. For the low low price of $905 I am now the proud owner of a one way boarding pass for a 777 to Incheon. From Incheon I fly to Busan and should arrive in my new city on Feb 17th at around 9:30am (local time).

With so little time left before I leave I find myself hoping to have enough time to see my friends before the big day. I have a dinner and a rockclimbing session on the books, and it shouldn’t be too hard to set up a videogaming session with a few friends, but I feel bad about all my buds in Toronto, London, Kitchener and Vancouver who I won’t get to see before I leave. Anyhow, its not like I’m not gonna see them again, and I’m sure we’ll keep in touch through Skype and E-mail, but even so you folks should know I wish I had better planned my last few weeks so I could have come see you.

All that is left now is to buy some gifts and a few last minutes supplies (spices, sunglasses), pick up my visa from the consulate on Wednesday, take some more video for a film I’m putting together for my classes and party hard with my mates and organize my income tax and banking information. Not to mention a few hours of serious packing/organizing. Oh, getting 3 passport size photos taken, getting rent receipts from my old landlord, photocopying my passport page. Don’t you hate the way to-do lists get longer as you make them? My sentence structure above got all screwed up.

Thats all for now BNBers!

About bnbnower

A recent graduate of Carleton University, set adrift into the real world with no tangible goals or properly defined aspirations, I decided to set off for South Korea where I am teaching English as a second language. In my spare time I read, rock-climb, play frisbee and watch movies and television.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Countdown

  1. Lindsay says:

    Gooood morning and happy valentines day.
    As your older (and much wiser) sister, I wanted to be the first person to comment on this blog (SUCCESS! – and you haven’t even left yet!!!).

    This thing is a great idea, and already very entertaining!
    Hopefully by now you have finished that to-do list, and are all ready to go so we can have funnn tonight!!

    Welllll I’m going to miss you little buddy! Hope you have the time of your life… look forward to reading more entries once you get there!!!!!!!
    see ya after work…

Leave a Reply

