Preparation: The key to victory

I’m leaving for Korea in 14 days. Since I will soon be waiving goodbye to my comfortable, sheltered life I thought this would be a perfect time to start seriously making entries in this brand spanking new blog of mine.

Today I took my documentation to the Korean Consulate in Ottawa. For the low low price of 55 dollars Canadian I am now (or at least soon will be) eligible to work in Korea for one year (with the option to renew). This afternoon was very exciting for me; it seemed like one of the last steps in the long road to landing my job and getting this great adventure underway. I say it SEEMED like one of the last steps because it wasn’t long before my good ol’ mom reminded me of how much work I actually have to do to prepare (packing, getting financial affairs in order, buying new clothes and other essentials, you know – that silly stuff).

The fact remains that I am very close to finally departing for my new job and new life in Korea. –> Excited!

As this is the first entry, it seems an appropriate time to discuss the nature of my new blog. I do not intend for this blog to be a Dear Diary outlet for my emotions and homesickness etc… As a young man of 22 (23 in 4 days) I know that displaying emotion outwardly is not healthy; such things should be bottled up deep inside, where they belong. I DO however intend for this blog to be a record of my experiences, I hope to record not only the awesome stuff I see, do and experience, but also a bit about day to day life in a foreign culture.

If this sounds interesting to you, or if you are a friend or family member forced into reading this to avoid hurting my feelings, then please read on and follow me throughout my adventures over the next year.

So long for now BNBers!

About bnbnower

A recent graduate of Carleton University, set adrift into the real world with no tangible goals or properly defined aspirations, I decided to set off for South Korea where I am teaching English as a second language. In my spare time I read, rock-climb, play frisbee and watch movies and television.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

